Market Day!

Saturday was a BIG day… Riverfront Market Day awaited in Selma. Our little house isn’t exactly close, so we were up and out of the house before 5:30am, car packed and coffee mugs in hand. I was so excited! The downtown area is GORGEOUS, especially in the fall, but it was barely dawn when we arrived in our spot around 7:30…

We parked and started unloading towards space #10, when this happened:

My MOM showed up! As you can see, I cried like a baby…in front of everyone. Ha! But it was such a treat. She got her petite little self in the car super early to make the 8 hour drive from Florida to be with me for my first festival. She was a big help, too… I have watched her participate in shows when I was growing up in Clearwater, so she knows what to expect and gave me tips and tricks throughout the day. I wish she could have stayed longer, but we enjoyed the day. (Note: B. was also a big help, as pictured above! xoxo).

As far as my display goes, all hail the power of Ebay! The set was a discontinued Armstrong aluminum display system, kinda like here. I caught a good deal from a lady who goes to storage auctions (five panels for $200 bucks!). We attached the paintings to the panels with drapery hooks, which worked pretty well.

A few shots of our display setup:

Ta-da!

And we were open for business! The morning got off to a slow start, but soon the streets were bustling and people started shopping. It was great to see some familiar faces from Judson come by, and I met plenty of new folks throughout the day. I was stoked to meet so many different artists and craftsmen as well. There really was an eclectic mix of vendors. Here are a ton more pictures from the weekend if you wanna sneak a peek on the organizations’ Facebook page.

We were so pooped by the end of it all, but it was a whirlwind of an experience! I would love to do more festivals, Lord- (and bank account) willing. All in time…I’ve got the rest of my life!

Now, for a nap.

2 thoughts on “Market Day!

Leave a Reply

